Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

MIDI Controller Help for a Poor Newb!

Howdy all, I've been playing keyboards for a few years, and I'm finally getting serious with my gear, and trying to learn how to use everything, so I'm sure you'll see me a lot here. Right now, I'm lookin for some help on my hookup.

I've got a JV-1000 which has a MIDI In, Out, and Thru, and I would desperately like to use two MIDI controllers, namely an AX-1 and a M-Audio Keystation 88es, neither of which has a MIDI through. As far as I'm aware, the only way is to daisy chain using MIDI throughs, but there's gotta be a way, otherwise I'm totally bummed about needin a second keyboard to use my AX on stage.

So, while I don't see a way offhand, maybe someone knows better than me, I'm pretty new to MIDI controllers.

Thanks a lot in advance!

"...Keytar in a heavy metal band is nothing more than window dressing" - Sven Golly

Cursed Eternity - My Band

Dick Ward - My Me

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to the Keyboard Corner. :wave:

If I understand you correctly you want to merge different midi signals and send them into the MIDI in of your JV1000.

Many midi interfaces also allow you merge midi signals. Although they are typically used to connect many synths to a computer, they are also useful to connect many synths to each other.

If you wish to keep things simple and cheap, a Midi Merger may the right tool for you:

http://www.midisolutions.com/products.htm

I've never used one of these, but I have used their breath controller products. And it works well. I think they run about a hundred typically.

But for a couple of hundred used, there are modules available that you can trigger from your AX-1, leaving the Keystation to control the JV.

Best,

Jerry