Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Trying to teach yourself music

Loufrance

I was wondering if anyone could give some advice to a beggining musician that's try to teach themselves music(Piano/Keyboard playing, Theory, Ear training etc). I have some basic knowledge but so far I haven't had much success. (Please don't tell me to get a music teacher I know it would be much easier if I had one).

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply
(Please don't tell me to get a music teacher I know it would be much easier if I had one).
Do you want good solid advice or just someone do agree with you?

You can teach yourself how to read music and music theory. It really would be best to have someone show you how to actually approach the keyboard. You can always earn more money to pay for everything, but time, once it's wasted or squandered, is gone forever.

Get a teacher.

No guitarists were harmed during the making of this message.

In general, harmonic complexity is inversely proportional to the ratio between chording and non-chording instruments.

I've never had a lesson or a teacher. I did go through the public school program, where I played alto sax, but as far as keys go - nothing. Basicly self taught. Listen as much as you can. Use your ears and play what you hear even if you have to listen to a bar at a time or a half bar. Hear it - play it. Learn to write that down.Play with the best players that will have you. Not everyone has the opportunity to study with someone or go to school,I didn't, but we all have the opportunity to make music. Another thing for you to do is become a regular here. There are a lot of fine players here that will offer up all kinds of info. Some of us are begginers, some have been doing it a while.We meet here to help each other. Welcome to the Corner.

To learn keyboard playing and music in an autodidact way is possible, but it's gonna take you a lot more time.