Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Playing weddings . . .

shniggens

I've been requested to play a friends wedding again.

Just a question as far as what's appropriate -

Since I don't play weddings much, nor do I play classical that often anymore (and other wedding type material), I'm going to need to play with sheet music.

Is playing off of sheets appropriate for a wedding?

I know that since it's a friend and all it shouldn't matter. I'm just curious what the protocol would be for these type of gigs.

Amateur Hack

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I agree that using music is OK.

I also agree that working for family is not a good idea.

No guitarists were harmed during the making of this message.

In general, harmonic complexity is inversely proportional to the ratio between chording and non-chording instruments.

I have been playing weddings for many years. Always used music. Weddings are different than bars or concerts. You are not usually the center of attention, the bride and groom are. Keep them happy and dancin and you have done your job. DJs have really killed the band buss. here in Chicago. Even the top wedding groups are struggling for work

Quote by pursuitboy:

-----------------------------

DJs have really killed the band buss.

-----------------------------

DJ's have really killed live musicians work period. Smaller clubs that use to run solo acts and duo's use DJ's. Sometimes the club will have its own house system setup and just hire someone to come in and "spin disks", pay is low. Some other places that use to run entertainment went the "Sports Bar" route and knocked off live entertainment. It's cheaper to install a lot of TV's and get a bunch of sports channels on the tube than pay for live music.

Mike T.

Yamaha Motif ES8, Alesis Ion, Prophet 5 Rev 3.2, 1979 Rhodes Mark 1 Suitcase 73 Piano, Arp Odyssey Md III, Roland R-70 Drum Machine, Digitech Vocalist Live Pro. Roland Boss Chorus Ensemble CE-1.