Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Atten: Kurz PC2 oweners....

keyoctave

I have to share this experience with you.

I got a call from a band to fill in for a couple of nights as their keyboardist was out on a family emergency. Since I have been doing home recording only for the past 6 months, my first thought was damm...I sold my B-3 clone a few months ago....What am I going to do for organ sounds? I have my PC2X with both expansion ROM's, a Triton LE and a Yamaha S03. When playing live I use a Motion Sound KBR-3D. The organs on all three were just ok but nothing like I would like and you can't edit all the effects out of the organ sounds giving you a 'raw' organ sample to play on the organ side of the KBR, or so I thought.

I knew that the Kurz uses tone-wheel synthesis for their KB3 samples. I read the manual and found that I could edit the rotor sim out but be able to leave the other effects (which are added on top of the samples, not part of the samples as on other keyboards). I then played those sounds through the organ side of my KBR and ....HOLY S***!!!! I could not believe how good it sounded! The organ samples had a new character when played like this. I was most impressed with the top end. Very smooth with none of the digital quality that I have heard off of other emulations. I could still turn on and off the percussion, adjust the percussion volume and harmonic. Turn on and off the vibrato/chorus and switch between the 6 variations. I have full use of the sliders as drawbars and have up to 16 presets that I can program sounds with any effect (percussion or vibrato) to go along with them. Since the KBR has a tube on the pre-amp side, I was able to get distortion along with clean sounds if I wanted to. (the addition of a speakeasy pre-amp would also help this).