Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Yamaha Motif ES8 vs Korg Triton Extreme 88 key

Nu Soul Bro

Hi y'all, Im a bit new to all this keyboard stuff and so need some of ur masterfull advice. I have been saving for a long time and have decided to buy a second hand keyboard.

Before anyone says anything, I WENT to the shop to try each of the main ones I was thinking of out

(roland fantom X8, Motif Es8, Korg extreame 88key)

Overall I liked the motifes the best. Now I am looking foer a keyboard and have found a motif es8 for a mimimum of £1400 (auction) and a korg extreame 88 for atleasst £1200 (auction). Both were bought just before chrismas 04.

More than £1400 is streaching my budget a little bit and I just wondered if it was worth seriously considering the korg?

If this helps a little I am in a jazz funk band + a rock funk band and a nu soul band (jazz and soul) , which would be more suited to this types of music?

Overall pleas can you give your oppinion on what to do?

Please it would be a huge help!!!!!!!!

thanks everyone!!

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

For the kind of music you're doing, you probably want good piano and great EP's... do you also need to play brass (I'm in a funk band; we have a sax player, but I add the rest of the horn section). If so, the Mo is probably a better choice. If you think you'll be doing more synth, techno, house... stuff, the Korg is better there.