Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

NL3 & VIRUS users...suggestions

mooghead

Hi everybody.

The topic:

looking for suggestions between the Clavia Nord Lead III and the Access Virus KC

What I play:

everything, any style that a cover band can do. All the possible songs which can be defined classic hits from the 50s to the 90swe probably skip only the most recent hits. We only play livevery rarely recording.

The rest of the rig:

Nord Electro 73, a Studiologic 161 master keyboard, and a dedicated stage piano (considering the P90 and the RD170). So Ill have the stage piano with the new sinth on top; on the left the SL 161 with the Electro on top (the master will control both the Electro and the new sinth).

My approach to sounds:

Im not a programmer, Im a preset guy. I could learn to program my own sounds but it takes time and I prefer to spend my short spare time playing rather than programming. Why do I buy a VA if I dont really want to program my patches? Because I hate static samples, because I want good-great analogue sounds, because I want real-time controlIm not going to program from scratch but I already can modify subtractive sinthesis patches to my needs.

Sounds Ill use it for:

Leads, pads, sinth brass, sinth strings

Pros I see in the Nord Lead III:

Much easier to use, smaller to carry, its a Nord!

Pros I see in the Virus KC:

Much better keybed, larger user-base for ready patches, more complex sounds available.

WHAT DO YOU THINK:

Thank you all :-)

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by mooghead:

[QB]Hi everybody.

The topic:

looking for suggestions between the Clavia Nord Lead III and the Access Virus KC

What I play:

everything, any style that a cover band can do. All the possible songs which can be defined classic hits from the 50s to the 90swe probably skip only the most recent hits. We only play livevery rarely recording.