Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

students ... what are they thinking?

Dave Horne

I received a phone call last week from a young man who wanted to study jazz piano. We make an appointment and he comes over for an introductory lesson. I quickly learn that he can not read music and can not play the piano at all; he does not even own or have access to a piano. What is going through his mind? I don't want to be rude to this guy, but I nicely suggest that perhaps he should buy a piano and go from there.

The next time I'll have the presence of mind to ask the obvious. Amazing.

No guitarists were harmed during the making of this message.

In general, harmonic complexity is inversely proportional to the ratio between chording and non-chording instruments.

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Students!

- "What you mean, I have to practice at home?"

- "I have a degree in classical music, you know, and I've read a couple of ragtime pieces, they're so funny... Now, a friend made me listen to this guy called Art Tatum, so I wonder if you can give me some advice to play in that style"...

- "What you mean, I lost the structure in my solo? I was all right!"

- "Wow, these are a lot of chords!

- Same classical musician from above: "I find playing in time so difficult... What's wrong if I don't keep the 12-bar chorus? Nobody would notice it anyway".

-"Too much pedal? Well, I like it, it's my style!"

- "I have a free hour every Saturday, and I want to use it to practice the piano. Do you think that in six months or so I could reach professional level?"

- "I want to go for my feelings, man. I don't want to learn all those inversions. Technique is not music." (My usual answer: "Right - it's just a part of it".)

And my favorite:

- "Yeah, I can't play it, but what's important is, I've understood how it works!"