Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

any clavia experts here?

mildbill

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm no expert but the subject did come up on a number of boards that the NL3 has a different timbral quality than the NL2. It has been attributed to the fact that they recoded all the elements. I believe that a change in programming personnel is one of the reasons for the extensive change.

To my ears it's a different personality, not just added functionality. The NL2 is more in your face. The NL3 can be warmer and even harsher but in a more distant way.

Best,

Jerry

I also heard there was a change in programming personel. When I had the NL2, I experienced a different personality soundwise, a rather distinct Nord sound due to the inherent limitations in that kind of board. The NL3 is IMO much more flexible, I have yet to encounter a synth sound I cannot reproduce on it. All the different filter types and FM options make it less instantly recognizeable than the NL2; patches 41 and 54 on the NL2 turned up everywhere for a while... Still, I´m really happy I made the transition, I use the NL3 almost on a daily basis, and it can usually deliver exactly what I have in mind.

/J :cool: nas

analogaddict: i have a question for you.

if you've dug deeply enough into the 3, can you tell me about the filters?

in the manual, they state that you have 2 filters.

but it looks like if you select 'multi-filter', then you can set individual cutoffs, but everything else is the same.

for instance, they both use the same envelope (and you can't invert it for only one), and they both have the same resonance settings.

is this correct?

Originally posted by mildbill:

analogaddict: i have a question for you.

if you've dug deeply enough into the 3, can you tell me about the filters?

in the manual, they state that you have 2 filters.