Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

cross posted ION review

mildbill

i got an ion yesterday and did up a quick review on it that i thought i'd post here also for anyone interested:

i've been using synths for quite a few years, so i think it's fair to post some impressions after owning it for only one day, so here goes:

for the price - this thing is absolutely fabulous - it defines 'bang for the buck'. if you've been hesitating, don't - if you want it get it.

it has some features that are absolutely brilliant.

here are 2 quick examples.

you can program the pitch wheel so that if you play some keys, then release most of them (but use a pedal or program them so that release velocity gives them a long release stage),

then you can use the pitch wheel to bend just the note or notes that you are still holding. (hope that made sense).

works fabulous and i'll never complain about not having poly-pressure again.

another very cool feature is listed under 'portamento type'. i've seen people ask for this on other forums and the ION can do it.

you can program it so that for example, you play a low key, then release it and play a high key. you will hear a 'glissando' (playing each key as it goes up the board) at a rate that's determined by the portamento rate. lots of people look for this to emulate harps, guitars, etc., but few keyboards can do it.

ok: more, general, immediate stuff.

i've heard complaints about the keyboard, but it feels like any other synth-action keyboard to me and that fact that it has release velocity more than makes up for any light feel.

sound: i have a nord lead 2 and was talked out of trading it for the ion after posting here. i'm glad i kept the NL2.

i prefer its overall sound to that of the ion.

especially the 'sync' function for the oscillators. the ion may sound more analog, but i've grown to like the more digital sound of the NL2 and yamahas AN series.