Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Newbie here, need input on choosing a synth, please

USC_Keys

Hi all! I am in the market for my first synth. I've been in love with synths for a long time, but I was never able to afford one and they always intimidated me from a technological standpoint.

Well, I've been saving up for a few years now and I have enough scholarships to cover most of my college expenses, so I'll be ready to buy by year's end.

I just want a general purpose "do everything" synth. I won't be able to buy a new one every couple of years, so I want to get a good one now and hold onto it for a while, learn the ropes, you know, just get really good use out of it.

OK, so enough rambling on: I have my eyes on the Motif ES6 and the new Kurzweil K2661. I'm leaning toward the ES, but I would GREATLY appreciate if you more experienced synth users could give me an objective analysis of the pros and cons of each (and anything else you think might make my decision more easier). I have yet to demo either (I haven't found a shop anywhere near me that carries both synths so I can do a side-by-side...but considering I'm such a newbie, I'm not sure how much good a demo would do...whatever synth I end up getting, I'll just work like hell to make myself master it).

I have read that Kurz synths are difficult to program for...I know very little about synths (but I'm researching synth technologies and how they work on my own) and programming, but the plus side is that I will be doing this as hobby and will have plenty of time to "mess around" with and slowly learn whatever keyboard I get.

And quickly, here are my needs:

Musical sytle: I am mostly interested in electroncia-type music, you know, ambient and stuff like that.

Ambitions: I'm not looking to make a career out of this, I just want to make music and have a rewarding hobby.