Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Roland SRX Boards

Tim Clark

Hey all,

I'm a newb here, so first off all let me introduce myself. My name's Tim...Took piano lessons on several occasions, but in the end I'm still a guitarist who pretends to know how to play keys. I've got a Wurlitzer 200A I plunk around on, but am looking to expand my tone vocab a bit.

The setup I'm looking at would be a Studiologic SL990 controller into a Roland sound module with a few SRX expansion boards. How would you guys rate the Roland SRX boards? I'm particularly interested in the Vintage Keys, Concert Piano, Dynamic Drums and Symphonic/Orchestral boards. Also, what would be a good module to buy to use these with the controller? I haven't really looked at the competitors offerings, but is anything else out there better than the SRX's for around the same price?

Thanks in advance!

-Tim

My music is like a movie for your ears - Frank Zappa

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome,

I have the vintage keys.

Its o.k. the rhodes and wurly's are fair.

The organs however are pathetic.

They sound good until you get around C3,then they sound like some cheesy-ass casio.

I've even went as far as running my xp-80 through a Leslie 122.Still sounded like shyte.

So,I would really advise against it.

If you're going for just the rhodes,wurly's its alright.

However,its got a pretty close sounding Farfiza(sp)?

Welcome, Tim

I guess you don't need a sound module with good Wurly samples, huh?

For a Roland sound module, I'd suggest finding a used XV-3080 (or if your budget allows, the XV5080). I found a 3080 for around $600 and like it very much. Instead of the 64 note polyphony of the current XV2020 & 5050, the 3080 has 128 note polyphony which is important when using some of Roland voice-intensive programs. It will also accept more expansion cards than the 2020 & 5050.