Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How Do *You* Keep Up Your Piano Chops?

OK, so I'm gigging again after a 12-year hiatus. I've been practicing heavily for 4 months now, and it's starting to pay off. My organ-style chops are now producing knowing smiles and high-fives at jam nights. My synth-style leads are flowing well, and I'm not thinking about them much (which is a good thing).

But my piano chops? Well, they, --ahem-- suck rocks through straws! :mad:

It seems that one of the great blessings of my life is now coming back to haunt me. My mom starting teaching me piano when I was 3. And I had professional lessons at a very young age too. So when I tried to remember how I learned the basic fundamentals....well, I don't really remember. :eek:

What do you do to work your piano fundamentals? Should I maybe take some lessons? Any teachers out there with feedback? Any ideas much appreciated...

--Dave

Make my funk the P-funk.

I wants to get funked up.

My Funk/Jam originals project: http://www.thefunkery.com/

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Of course, it's important to have a piano, or a good weighted keyboard at the very least, to practice on. If you haven't played the piano for a long time, I'd say it's very important to do a few minutes of relaxation exercises for the arms and torso before starting. The main thing is to be conscious of the arm weight and to control it from the shoulder. You don't need any of that for synth and organ playing, but it's indispensable for the piano.

I would start with some simple finger exercise - Hanon is good if you *transpose* it. Start SLOWLY, with a natural articulation of the fingers, and try to make one single lever from shoulder to fingernail - flexible and relaxed. Bring the key to its bottom every time. Strive for a "vertical" approach of every finger. (You aren't supposed to *play* like this, you know; simply, it pays to study your technique this way).