Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

A new respect for the Beatles

CP

I posted an earlier topic asking was there a better rock group than the Eagles. Got alot of different answers, alot of Beatles fans. After much listening (my wife bought me the Beatles "1" Album), I submit. The Beatles are probably the best rock band ever. You can here the growth in their playing and writing. I never really paid attention to their music. I was always a fan, but now that I am studying music, I look at them differently now. Still think the Eagles had some great musicians. But the Beatles music is so diverse. And some of their music is so meaningful. I will never doubt the Beatles again.

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

This is a tough one to argue. The Beatles have been not only prolific, but also very skilled in several TOTALLY differen "flavors" of rock.

Most definitely, a good part of it was the genius of the songwriting. They did indeed evolve, not only as musicians, but as songwriters.

I mean, what other band can you ask hey, do you like "X", and have a legitimate response be "what era?"

And I'm not even that huge a Beatles fan; I just have to agree with the premise.

Cheers!

Phil "Llarion: The Jazzinator" Traynor

www.llarion.com

Smooth Jazz

- QUESTION AUTHORITY. Go ahead, ask me anything.

http://www.llarion.com/images/dichotomybanner.jpg

I'm a hyooge fan of both bands. For me, comparing the Beatles and the Eagles is like comparing Chinese food with Italian food. They're both great, but different. They both play(ed) pop-rock, both had fantastic harmonies, but there the similarity ends.