Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Book on jazz harmony?

pete psingpy

Hi, I need to learn more about jazz theory and chords. I have some background and know a little of the basics. I'm familiar with jazz chords up to a touch of quartal harmony. I'm looking for something that covers the basics up through the extended chords, 9th's, flat 9th's, 13th's, etc, hip voicings, quartal voicings; how and when they're used, comping, scales and modes used for improv over certain chords. Also, the basic structures of jazz music. A bit on composition would be great too. Is there anything that's comprehensive but won't be like a textbook? I could just search Amazon but a recommendation would help me. Thanks!

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

One of the best books is JAZZ PIANO by Mark Levine.....but he never uses the word "quartal". What does that mean? The book is exhaustive and gives an insightful look at jazz harmony, from one person's perspective.....you will learn about modes and the keys they are derived from.....progressions, scales, and the evolution of the music in general. Very good book.

He doesn't give up the secret of jazz, if there is one, except that explanations and theory mean absolutely nothing except that they are a way of describing sounds.

I can tell you that you can make the color yellow by mixing 71% magenta, 66% yellow and 5% cyan but if you don't know what yellow looks like it means absolutely NOTHING. Same with music. IMO

Hope this helps.

This message has been edited by mojosaur on 08-04-2001 at 02:39 PM

I think dan hearle has some good books on jazz voicing/theory. Also , there are some excellent play-along CD's from jamey aebersold that focus on jazz progression...from easy to highly complex. both are available through a jamey abersold web site.