Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Motif ......Nice .....but ?

Dan O

The Motif has arrived at most stores by now . I had a chance to play it and I must say that in my opinion it sounds better than Korg Triton and Karma . A little easier to use as well . The Motif is also priced very reasonable vs. Korg . The Motif did away with the Floppy disk . They now use Smart Media Cards . Is this good ? Is the Floppy on the way out ? Dan O
www.esnips.com/web/SongsfromDanO

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I was surprised that the Motif's presets were so poorly done. After playing around on it for about half an hour I went over and played the Yamaha S80. The S80 sounded so much fuller, colorful, and the presets are just SO musical to me. I know the Motif has a lot of expansion capabilities, ROM, etc., but the sounds didn't impress me.

I've been playing keys for about 16 years now. If an instrument doesn't really grab my attention on first impression then I move on. I will pass on the Motif.

Agreed. It's so frustrating that every "next big thing" workstation that comes out has some glaring Achilles' heel. (Yamaha EX-5 with it's SCSI speed, Kurz K2600's ancient ROM, etc.) It's as though they're afraid to make it too good because we might not buy the next one.

Stephen Fortner

Principal, Fortner Media

Former Editor in Chief, Keyboard Magazine

Digital Piano Consultant, Piano Buyer Magazine

Industry affiliations: Antares, Arturia, Giles Communications, MS Media, Polyverse

Originally posted by jla@hib.no:

i think the worst thing with the motif is the ancient RAM.

I think it only ships with 2M of RAM. You have to add SIMMS to expand it. Are they using an older (slower) SIMM design?

Originally posted by dansouth@yahoo.com:

I think it only ships with 2M of RAM. You have to add SIMMS to expand it. Are they using an older (slower) SIMM design?

Their add says:

Large Sampling Capacity, Wide Compatibility