Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

R U Multi-instrumental?

Dave Bryce

Here's an interesting question...

I'm curious whether the average keyboardist plays other instruments.

If you do, tell us what they are. Do you play them a lot? Which is your original instrument?

If you don't, and you wish you di, tell us what instrument that you aspire to play.

I started with piano when I was 9, followed by trombone and recorder in elementary school (back in the olden days when schools had music programs). I switched from trombne to baritone horn in Jr. High, then back to trombone in high school. I picked up some drums in Jr. High as well...I started playing guitar in High School, and bass in college. I have an old violin that someone gave me too, but I really suck at that.

I still play the guitar, bass and drums...not the horns, though. I prefer acoustic guitar (got an Epiphone, want a Taylor) to electric. I have a DM Pro kit, so I get to keep my drum chops up, and a custom built bass that I pick on a few times a month...

Anybody else?

dB

:snax:

:keys:==> David Bryce Music • Funky Young Monks <==:rawk:

Professional Affiliations: Royer LabsMusic Player Network

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

As some of you know I'm a guitar player that has fairly recently taken up the piano, or keys I guess is a little closer to the truth. I love the guitar, and plan to keep learning and getting better at it but I am also very interested in the different things you can do with a synth. I also really enjoy straight up piano music as well, and hope to get a weighted controller very soon so I can get more into the piano side of things. For now I practice piano parts on a synth but as you know far better than I the feel just isn't the same.