Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How to make recording more fun?

I am a semi-pro guitarist who works regularly in a variety of styles. I love to play, but hate to record - for me the recording studio is about as much fun as the dentist's chair - a tedious, annoying, expensive process. How can I make it more fun - how do you make it more fun recording yourself or others?

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, speaking for myself, I never HAD to make it more fun, it always was.

If you hate it so much, then just focus on being a musician and let someone else do the "treaded recording" for you.

Do you feel you "have to" become involved with recording yourself and others?

If you want to simplify the process and use it to just capture basic demos of yourself, there are a lot of toys out there that will keep it fairly simple...check out some of the Roland stuff...everything in one box.

But if you want to do more involved recording then...you might end up hating it even more.

If it is just a technical hurdle that is making it feel like a "dentist's chair" to you, then keep plugging, it will become easier with practice and there is a lot of "how to " information in theses forums that will be helpful.

Good Luck!

Miroslav

miroslav - miroslavmusic.com

"Just because it happened to you, it doesn't mean it's important."

Originally posted by miroslav:

...check out some of the Roland stuff...everything in one box.

...or the Korg D8 or D16, both going at great discount prices these days.