Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Crash or Ride

Bonham Jr

I need a new cymbal.

I am a young drummer looking to buy some new cymbals.

I am definitely getting hi hats, but now i need to know if i should get a ride or a crash, because i will use my Crash/Ride for the other cymbal.

The band I am in play metal, classic rock, and other rock: Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Ac/dc, RATM, Nirvana, Iron Maiden, Rush, etc.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Buy the best ride you can afford, and plan on keeping it a long time. That doesn't mean you necessarily have to spend more, but it means you should take the time to find the best one you can afford. If you're lucky, you'll find one that you never want to part with for thirty years, like Neil Peart - he's been playing the same A. Zildjian 22" Ping Ride since 1974. You will own a lot of different crash cymbals over the years, but a good ride cymbal is one of the foundations of your sound, a very important basic piece.

Let me make a recommendation: If you want a very pingy hard rock ride sound without much wash or crash to it, check out the Wuhan S-Class Medium Heavy Ride. It is super tight and super dry. If you want ANY kind of full sound, it's not the cymbal for you, but if you want a lot of stick attack and an anvil-like bell sound, for CHEAP, it's the way to go. Actually, all Wuhan's cymbals are a lot of cymbal for the money. Check them out.

"I had to have something, and it wasn't there. I couldn't go down the street and buy it, so I built it."

Les Paul

Most of my Brass is Zildjian Custom "A"'s - although you may find Paiste more to your liking - but i would not reccomend buying a 20" ride and using it as a crash - nor would i reccomend a crash and settle for riding your high hat -

Probably the best bang for your buck at this point is something in the area of an 18" Crash/Ride.