Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Newbie needing help picking out a second drumset

HMSDrumKing

Hi everyone, I really love this forum, I have enjoyed reading all the posts. I am turning 14 in a week, and have been playing drums for 4 years. I already have a set, a junky 5-piece Peace beginner kit that I got about 2 years ago. Lately it has started to fall apart, screws falling out, hardware collapsing, etc, so I think I need to be getting a new drum set. I really do love drumming, I spend more time playing than I do on the computer, watching tv, eating, all the other things kids my age like to do. But the problem is I will most likely only be playing for about 5 more years, until I go away to college. The reason I'll stop before college is pretty much that I doubt I could make it as a musician, I don't think I have the talent, plus dorms are WAY too small for a set. What do you think would be a low cost, second drumset, that would last me for the 5 years until I go to college? I am on a fairly low budget, maybe up to $1500 (including hardware, I already have cymbals that would work until I replenish my money supply). I would be using the set to play with the school jazz band, so it has to be made out of a better wood than my current plywood. I have heard that mahogony is good for a second kit, but I'm not really sure. I have done quite a bit of research on the subject, but still can't come to a conclusion. One thing I do know for sure though is that it would be a heck of a lot cheaper to buy through a mail order catalog, so I'm pretty sure that is what I'll do unless somebody has a better idea. Any insight would be appreciated, thank you guys very much!

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

HMS:

Wow, where do I start.

First of all ... GIVE YOURSELF MORE CREDIT THAN THAT!!!