Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Suggestions for live miking snare and bass drums???

Sir Bob

I'm a guitarist in a band that plays occassionally doing covers. Our drummer is pretty good except I wish he was louder on the snare.

We mic the bass and snare. The bass mic is what ever we have leftover, which is either a 57 or 58. By sticking inside the bass drum we get enough volume. Any recommendations for a better mic? An AKG?

At our last gig I still wanted more snare even though we put a 57 about eight inches above the snare. I will try putting it closer but I was thinking about a midi trigger of a sample. Does anyone have any experience here?

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Bob, a 57 about an inch from the snare will probably get you the volume you need.

As for kik mics. The AKG D112 or the Shure Beta52 are pretty good for the money. Here is a link for some drum mics :

www.musiciansfriend.com/ex/search/live/010624154310216163113056222243?FIND=FCCX&q=c

------------------

-----------

KHAN (Always hopeful, yet discontent)

www.floydtribute.hpwebhost.com

This message has been edited by KHAN on 06-24-2001 at 06:58 PM

So Many Drummers. So Little Time...

khan is right on the money!I use a 57 on the snare too.Go for close proximity.this will give you more headroom and help isolate the 57.I use a SHURE Beta 52 inside the kick,same rule applies go for proximity effect.Those mics handle SPL's very well so mic close.Use boom stands and make sure the stand doesn't come into contact with cymbal stands etc...Even with good mics you'll still need to do some shaping with a good parametric EQ.Never underestimate the value of a good 18" sub for good kick sound!

ian*

ian*