Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Anyone have any advice on Practice Pads?

Jayabusa

Hell-o there! This is my first posting on this forum, so please be gentle with me! *laugh* I'm a 24 year old drummer from Texas (been playing drums SERIOUSLY since about age 13), and recently I've found it difficult (read: next to IMPOSSIBLE) to get a good solid practice in on my kit, since I live quite a ways away from my bandmates (and as a result, our rehearsal space - and MY KIT). I'm moving into a new apartment complex this weekend, and obviously taking my drums is a "no-no". I hate like hell that my chops aren't where (I think) they should be, and I want to remedy the situation. Since I obviously can't take my kit (due to the new apartment and rehearsal situation), I'm considering buying a full-set of practice pads. A fully functional electronic kit just isn't going to work, since I'm on a SUPER-TIGHT budget. I currently own ONE "RealFeel" practice pad.

What I'm asking is this: 1) Do you think I ought to go out and buy a FULL "drumkit size" set of pads? Or 2) Should I just use my one "RealFeel" pad, and add a double kick pedal to another pad for foot work?

Also, that being said, does anyone have any good practice tips? I so hate getting stale in practice (of course, it's been AGES since I've been able to actually PRACTICE as opposed to REHEARSING with the band).

LMKASAP!!!!!

Jayabusa

NYATT!!!!

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to Drum Talk Jayabusa!!

I fear a set of practice pads will still cause you problems with your new neighbors. (at least in my experience). You see ... they can still be heard!

Of course, you still need to practice. Pillows are a good chop building alternative, but nothing will replace the practice session on a full set for working on grooves.

Perhaps you should explain to your new neighbors your dilemma and inquire as to a good time for you to practice on a practice pad set.