Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Positive or Negative Re-enforcement -- Which do you think works best?

djarrett

I want to reach down into something that Felix mentioned in another thread.

He mentioned "Granted, I was a beat student at the time and we ripped on everybody cause we were always getting ripped on."

This was not the first time this was made reference to.

I personally see this too often at the school and especially college level.

Why all this negative re-enforcement today? I really think we all have enough to be down about already. We do not need our instructors or drum peers dragging us down. Why do you think you endured all of this negativity and how did you cope.

Do you think it left a long-lasting negative impression on you?

Did it leave you feeling like you did not measure up?

What can we do as motivators, teachers, instructors to make this a better environment for all concerned?

Does it really matter?

Thanks,

DJ

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

see "practice more suck more" thread

POSTED FROM DJ

Why all this negative re-enforcement today? I really think we all have enough to be down about already. We do not need our instructors or drum peers dragging us down. Why do you think you endured all of this negativity and how did you cope.

Do you think it left a long-lasting negative impression on you?

Did it leave you feeling like you did not measure up?

What can we do as motivators, teachers, instructors to make this a better environment for all concerned?

It's funny you should say that cause I can't take a compliment to this frigging day about my playing and when I give a musician a compliment and they say "thanks" I think to myself "god, are you arrogant"- pretty dysfunctional thinking huh?