Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Ayotte Drums

derm75yahoo.com

Hi Folks,

can anyone tell me anything about Ayotte Drums (like even how to say the name)? I'm an engineer and bass player, new to drumming, but looking for a mid priced kit that I could bring into the studio if a band showed up with a really junky set. Understand that they will mostly be used by me at home. I've seen ads for Ayotte but never really heard any talk about them, positive or negative, and I'm not sure even how to pronounce the name. Thanks for any info.

Jeremy Smith

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well I dont know if i would classify Ayotte as "mid-priced", as I consider them to be one of the best Drum Manufacturers out there. they are competitive price wise with DW if you go thru thier web site

their drums are truly works of Art and sound incredible. I guess you could go with the *Drum Smith* line, which doesnot employ thier wood hoop design....They are probably cheaper...

www.ayottedrums.com

>I'm not sure even how to pronounce the name<

Well. Jeremy:

Phonetically speaking, you would pronounce the name: A - yacht.

Ayotte is a small "custom" drum company in Canada started by Ray Ayotte in 1982. He was an innovator as far as "on the drum" hardware designs. He also was the spark that ignited the wood hoop craze in the drum industry. His company came on very strong in the mid to late 1990's, capturing a coveted spot in the high end marketplace.

Unfortunately, the company was heavily funded through the Alberta Stock Exchange and (as usual) the company was not growing in profits as fast as the investors wanted. Due to changes that the Board of Directors enforced, (in an effort to increase sales) Ray Ayotte resigned in September of 1999.

Since that time the company decided to drop its retail affiliates and was one of the first companies in the music industry to go "all e-commerce."