Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Amp help

KevinM

Greetings,

My daughter, the musician, needs a Bass Amp. She says her guitar amp is not the same and needs one for her bass. I am a photographer, I have no clue.

Can you all recommend manufactures to look for and to stay away from? Also, looking on Amazon, some were called amps and some cabswhats a Cab?

Id like to keep the price around $300, is that reasonable? I live in Denver and I think there is a store that just sells Basses and well probably shop Guitar World as well.

I appreciate your assistance.

Kevin

Not all who wander are lost

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The normal practice amp is called a combo. Becuase the amplifier is mounted in the speaker cabinet. As you move into the more professional models you will see seperate componants. The Preamp, the amplifier, and then the seperate speaker cabinet. For a beginner I would recommend a small combo amp with a 10" or 12" speaker with about 50 to 75 watts of power. This will give her true bass sound and make playing much more enjoyable and give her enough power to play with friends in a small practice session. How old is your daughter and what kind of Bass is she playing?

Rocky

"Democracy is two wolves and a lamb, voting on what to eat for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb, contesting the vote."

Benjamin Franklin

Amp = amplifier

Cab = speaker cabinet

Combo = amp + cab in the same unit

Rocky gave sound advice. 50 to 75 watt combo with a 10" or 12" speaker.

$300 will do the job for you. Easily.

My first small combo was a Crate. It served me well till I outgrew it. (And the low wattage kept my parents sane.)

Cannot really recommend one since I haven't bought or played through one in years. Any amp will bring out endorsers and detractors. Maybe one of our teachers will chime in.