Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

January Edition

Bassplayerjoe

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Why would Adam Clayton be an idol?

The guy was a complete beginner when the band started out and doesn't sound a whole lot different now.

Only now he gets to play his overly simple lines on vintage gear.

Yeah, I know his parts fit the music. That doesn't say a lot for the rest of the players in the band or the writing.

If it weren't for the lyrics, there would be absolutely nothing there.

But of course that's just my opinion and I'm just ranting now.

The guy was a complete beginner when the band started out and doesn't sound a whole lot different now.

I have no problem with Adam Clayton being an idol to beginners. His basslines are easy for a novice to hear and try to cop by ear.

My first bass idol was Roger Waters. Hardly a player who pushed the envelope...but his lines were tasteful and very easy to hear and learn without having to turn to the dreaded TAB.

Of course, once I got my chops up, I heard Guy Pratt play a couple smokin' solos on Pink Floyd's live album "The Delicate Sound of Thunder" and realized there was a lot more to the instrument. :D

I agree the issue is best read back to front, as well! :D

i've never really understood the "depth" to U2. it always seemed to me to be litle more than egomanical arena rock. looking for real meaning in a U2 song is kinda like scuba diving in a shot glass. sure it looks like it could be fun but it soon proves impossible.
i am the anti, the tugging feeling in the back of your head that makes you second guess yourself. i am the devil inside of you begging to escape.

Originally posted by BenLoy:

I have no problem with Adam Clayton being an idol to beginners. His basslines are easy for a novice to hear and try to cop by ear.