Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Amp question

Incognito

As I am looking into my first big amp I had a question. I see many different types of amp/cab combos.

What are the pros and cons of having a setup like an Ampeg SVTCL paired up with 2 cabinets like a 1 x 18" and a 2 x 12" (or an El Whappo Grande & an El Whappo) versus just having a 6 x 10" or an 8 x 10".

I am not very technical so just basic terms please.

Thanks.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The most important thing to remember, whether you're technical or not, is that there are many more important factors than the size of the speakers that determine how the cab sounds. Furthermore, there's more to choosing a cab than the sound - how loud it will go is important, as is how big/heavy it is.

With current technology and small/medium gigs, or large gigs with PA support, you should be able to get great sound with nothing bigger/heavier than a <100lbs 4x10" sized cab.

What do you use at the moment? What are your current and likely future gigging situations? What kind of music do you play?

Alex

This may not exactly be the answer to your question, but i have been thinking recently about what type of amp i would buy if i was in the market for one now. Basically, i concluded that i would get a clean sounding amp (SVT, Gallien etc.) and get a preamp to go with it if i needed to beef up or colour the sound. Just a thought, but You might consider this before spending the big bucks.

Warwick Streamer Jazzman 5, Fernandes LEB-2

Ashdown ABM-300, Ashdown ABM 4x10

That could be a nice rig - which Ampeg 4x10"? Why the big tube head?

What are you currently using? What band/gigs?

Alex