Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

which fretless?

sidonbass

Please help me choose an easy to play, 4 string lined fretless. Love the Jaco sound. Budget...Under 1000.00 So far I like the Lakland Joe Osborne signature. Passive or active? Don't know. I'm just learning but It's coming fast on my borrowed bass. Suggestions? Help?

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You could probably get a skyline jo for under 1k, but I'm not sure if they come fretless. You could also get a jaco artist series bass for that much, but I'm not sure how close you'll get with it. It comes stock with flatwounds and an unfinished board.

It sounds like you want a fretless j style bass, and depending on how close to the jaco sound you want certain elements are vital. It should have an alder body, maple neck, and epoxied and lined rosewood board, it should also have a j bass pup in the bridge position, it could be a pj for that matter or anything else.

If you want to be really exact, it should also be beat to sh*t :thu:

If I were in your position I would check out bassnw.com

bssamporium.com

gguitars.com

basspalace.com

basscentral.com

ebay.com

Fretboard material will be important. The Skyline is a nice bass; the 'board is unfinished rosewood, so it's very warm, & not much of the Jaco "mwah" (at least, that's how my friend's fretless Skyline sounds to me). A lot of the fretless Fenders will probably be similar. Jaco's had a huge layer of hard epoxy. I've got a fretless MM Sterling, pau ferro 'board; great fretless tone, but not exactly Jaco, either; more Pino (who plays a fretless Stingray). You could try a Carvin, which has an ebony 'board.

Especially with a fretless, I think it's important to try them out personally, & choose the one that speaks to you. These basses are all about that distinctive tonal quality. It's extremely subjective.