Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Electric Acoustic Bass

Jeepin Guy

I have been playing guitar and bass for several years now and I am cashing in all my non acoustics for electric acoustics. The last one to leave is my electric bass. The main reason is because I can't seem to find an electric acoustic bass that gives good projection when unplugged.

I have been playing on Washburns for years, but I was not impressed with their electric acoustic bass offerings.

After many trips and trials I am still wanting. Does anyone have a suggestion on a good electric acoustic bass? I would like to stay under a $1000 (US) but can be coaxed for the right sound.

Any help would be appreciated.

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by jeremy c:

Such an instrument would defy the laws of physics. It does not exist.

Welcome to the forum, Jeepin' Guy! :wave:

jeremy is correct. I own 4 of them, and none of them would project farther than my practice chair.

If someone were to invent such an instrument it would probably turn out to be something a little large for human hands... http://www.phoons.com/images/guitar.jpg

http://www.reyesaccordions.com/Images/Earthwood77.jpg

Earthwood bass is probably the closest. Huge monster. Brian Richie of the Violent Femmes (Blister In The Sun) is probably the most famous user.

You can stop now -jeremyc

STOP QUOTING EVERY THING I SAY!!! -Bass_god_offspring

lug, you should add that statement to you signature.-Tenstrum

I'm not sure any argument can top lug's. - Sweet Willie

OK, I realize my question was worded poorly.

I realize there is nothing that is great, or maybe even good. I really wanted to know if there was anything anyone found that was, um, let's say, endurable?