Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

My Improv Sucks

VictorClarke

Thanks to everyone who helped me on discovering how the decode not so common time signatures, it's helped me a lot. Now, for my next obstacle. As a mostly self taught player, (I took lessons for a better portion of a year, though they only included the basics of the bass...nothing too deep) I've found myself quite lost when it comes to improvising. Recently though I've found it's helped me if I put on my favorite record and solo with that, listening for the ideas Ray Brown etc... puts into my head while playing my own. So far that has helped me play past the few licks I've already internalized in me. If anyone has any inquiry that would help me and my lack of interesting solos that would be awesome. Thanks again
When the music's over.

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Baby steps, man. Start with finding the root and locking with the drummer. Stick that, then start throwing in thirds, trying to figure if you are in a major or minor. Stick that, throw in a couple of fifths and octaves. Watch the chorus guitar's hand. Most of the the time his forefinger is going to root the chord he is playing.

Just wrote a bass line for a nu-metal song with my son's band by listening to the track and watching my son play. Most times I'm good with just majors and minors, they guys wouldn't know a Mixolydian from a mixed drink

Oh, and DON'T focus on whether or not what you are doing sucks. It takes a bit, but when it finally clicks ... WHAM!

Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn

Learn as many solos by as many different players as possible. Starting with Ray Brown solos is definately a good start...keep at it.

Singing with your playing is another good idea, one that I always do. It helps you break your playing into phrases.