Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Scale length and tone?

Davo-London

Fellow Lowdowners

I find my GAS is leading me to a short-scale fretted 30.75" Alembic Stanley Clarke model. This directly opposes the current trend of increasing scale length from 34" to 35" and in the case of Phil Lipscomb 37" (BP March 2005). I know about the tension variation (I am an engineer) with scale length, but with the variation of string gauges available today, getting the right string gauge/tension shouldn't be a problem.

The advantage of shorter scales should be that the bass is easier to play near the nut, especially for small hands. So what are the real disadvantages of shorter scale lengths?

Have I done a search - check

Have I done a spell check - check

Davo

"We will make you bob your head whether you want to or not". - David Sisk

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply
One problem with shorter scale lenghts, or just different scale lengths, is a certain unfarmiliarity with the neck. Of course this affects muscle memory. Think about how weird it is to play a bass with a very small nut (read; hofner, guild). It's a similar concept.
Hiram Bullock thinks I like the band volume too soft (but he plays guitar). Joe Sample thinks I like it way too loud (but he plays piano). -Marcus Miller

The question is, "What would Lemmy do?" And the answer is, play a bass with less than 34" scale.

Seriously, we don't all play long scale. Stanley Clarke, Paul McCartney, Chris Squire, Allan Woody, Geddy Lee, Jack Bruce...all of these guys sound great, & they all play under 34" (or have at important points in their career).

More to the point, you're looking at an Alembic & unsure whether it'll have great tone?!?

the only disadvantage i have with these kind of basses is

1- the tone is different. the bottom sounds different and the sustain also. if this is your cup of tea, go for it.