Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Electronics Question - Help with project

Remember the thread about control preferences? Lots of people said that they would prefer NO controls. Well I've decided to do this.

The bass is an Epi T-bird

Both pickups are humbucking

I will have two pickups, and I want both running full on.

As there will be no tone control (no capacitor) what will the bass sound like? Will it sound like fully on (brightest) or fully off (deepest) tone control setting?

Is it as simple is soldering all the hot wires to the tip of the output and then grounding all the ground wires.

Bog visoko, a Rusija daleko

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm no electronics expert, but in general, on a passive bass the tone control only removes treble. With the tone control full up, you're getting the natural tone of the pickups. When you roll it off, you're subtracting treble.

So my guess is that it will sound bright.

Bruiser

what they said.

the safest try would be to solder both hot wires to the tip connection of the output and both grounds to ground (usually the sleeve connection of the output).

you may also want to do some research about wiring the pickups in series. i'm not going to describe it for fear of confusing you. a simple picture comparison of series parallel will probably make it at least somewhat more obvious to you. for example, this site might illuminate the topic for you .

fender has added a switch to their basses that changes them between series and parallel, called the S1 switch, so it's not unprecedented.

robb.

Do you plan to sell the bass someday? If so, make note of the wiring and disconnect just what you need to pull all the controls out. An output jack is around $5 so if you could remove the existing jack without disconnecting anything, do so. You will need to reconnect the bridge wire to the negative (ring) end of the new jack.