Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help me figure this situation out!

mound

What would you all do in this situation? I'll try to recap this w/o rambling too much! I've been a bass player for 10 years or so. Since my last band broke up (an instrumental fusion trio), I was doing a lot of jamming bass/drums with this drummer friend, totally informal and lots of fun. I started studying classical piano over a year ago with a teacher and have been continuing jazz theory study on my own.) I'm not in this as a career, I'm doing it because I'm obsessed with learning. The drummer is in a pop/rock/groove band (all 3 chord songs in 4/4, simple cheezy but fun pop music with a hint of groove/improv "jamband") They lost their keyboard player, who didn't contribute much in the first place. Drummer asks me if I want to play keys with them (even though I've never played keys in a band before.) Thinking it'd be a good way to get some experience playing keys in a rock band, I decide sure, what the heck. Several months have gone by, a few gigs, some good, some not so good. There are several problems I have though.

1. The band is terribly unfocused.

2. The bass player lately has developed some kind of delusion of grandeur, and can't communicate. He's really not very good, about as good as one would get after 5 years of never practicing. He never trainwrecks or anything on stage, which is always good, he does lock with the drummer but he always over-plays. He doesn't practice at all, and says that until the rest of the band is blowing him away on stage (?@#$) he's not going to practice. "and what is there to practice anyway?" He gets defensive when anybody mentions to him that he should practice or get a teacher and has said that he simply doesn't have time. (which is valid, he has alot going on in his life.) He also believes the only reason to do this is to "get signed and play big stages", which, quite honestly with this band is laughable.