Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How do I get other musicians to respect me?

BassBAMF

I've been playing bass for 2 years. I'm 16 years old in a metal band with our own original songs. Not to be conceded(sp?) but I've had countless non-musicians tell me I'm awesome, and our music is "the bomb", but whenever an older musician, older meaning 20-24 hears that I'm 16 they don't respect me. they pass me off as a young pissant ( which i've been called) and they haven't even heard me... how do I get them to listen to me?
Scott, there's a sound I want you to hear....

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The only way I've found to do it is smile, and when you get your chance, play your behind off. And I don't mean 32nd-note runs in every phrase. I mean make the song sound so cool, the groove so obvious, that they can't help but love it.

And don't worry too much about who respects you and who doesn't. If you keep playing and getting better, it'll come.

Sage advice from our P.C.

I'll bet you're a talented young player...I'll bet you have a lot of potential.

But you know (and I'm being brutally honest here) there are thousands of young musicians just like you.

And the guys "diss-ing" you used to be just like you.

And the guys that are "diss-ing" those guys used to be just like you too!

In fact, I used to be just like you! But I haven't been a teenager in 30 years.

And one thing we all learn as we grow up is that our opinion of ourselves is often deluded.

Robert Burns once said,

"Ah, what gift should the giftie gi'e us,

Than to see ourselves as others see us."

There comes a point in life (Socrates taught this as a lifelong discipline) that intelligent people assume they know nothing.

That's when real learning begins.

So, what do you do?

Become a nerd.