Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Expensive Mic Pre Amp. Do we need'em?

let me introduce myself: my name is Sergio Lapa , I'm 23 years old and from Brazil. Its been like 1 year now since i had the guts to tell everyone i wanted to record music instead of becoming a lawyer. Pretty tough, uh? Well, let's go straight to the point. I'm really pissed about mic pre's costing so much money. Would you people mind like to help me a little? Here's the case: I'm gettin'my gear setup (humble digi 001, yamaha powered msp10, some fairly good mics etc etc). But when it comes to pre amps i'm really lost. Ok, tube warmth is all the rage nowadays but that doesn't tell me much. I'm a drummer myself, and i have read tons on how to get a great drum sound (really, i'm expecting A LOT out of this stuff i'm reading and buying). I figured 8 mic pre's for my drums will be more than enough...I know its hard for guys to point out which is THE BEST best mic pre on the market, which is the worst... that's very subjective i know... But, what mic pre's are notoriously good on vocals? Which ones are equally good on drums? guitars? Should i really get 8 top of the line pre amps just for the sake of recording awesome drums, or would it be wiser to get 8 good ones and 1 excelent for vocals?? Sonically, what difference would i be noticing with the million dollar preamp(drum wise)? HELP ME FOLKS. I'm lost!!

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply