Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Let's say you have a room to record in that was sealed and you pump it full of Helium gas. You place a guitar amp in the room and a microphone to pick up the sound. What would it sound like? Would it sound like a harmonizor set to a higher frequency?
Yum, Yum! Eat em up!

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks Hound Dog, you just wasted half a morning for four government engineers. :P

We are in pretty tentative agreement here: the sound will not change pitch. The sound will move through the room at a different speed, however, but that will not change the ultimate pitch as each wave produced at the source, will eventually reach the ear at the same rate.

The pitch does change in a person's windpipe, though, because the actual wavelength is changed, and the windpipe is actually producing the sound, not merely transmitting it as the helium in the room does.

I'm not very good at explaining things in laymen's terms sometimes, hope the preceding makes sense...

Botch

"Eccentric language often is symptomatic of peculiar thinking" - George Will

www.puddlestone.net

i would guess if you were playing guitar in a sealed room filled only with helium there would be no sound, because you would be dead from suffocation.

however if you were not in the room and ran a cord in there i predict the room may lift off the ground and ripp all the wires out of the power sockets thereby once again causing no sound.

therefore, sound does not pass through helium.

there's a reason i never graduated junior high, but i cant remember it.

Hmmm. I think that it depends on what percentage that the Helium is lighter than regular air.