Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Drum machine for a duo - looking at Alesis SR18.

I'm talking with a lady about forming a duo.  In recent times she's been doing a solo thing with midi tracks. I'm not really familiar with this, but she said you purchase them for $3 and are multitrack, with easy key changes and muting certain instruments.  I'm a pianist with a strong left hand bass sound. So I suggested a drum machine.  It appears the market has been matured for some years. 

I found a nice YT video on using the Alesis SR18 in a live setting. Also it seems to allow some simple editing of existing patterns. 

She's hoping to book some happy hours in The Villages (in central Florida). BTW, she said the market for live music for dementia patients is booming in The Villages. I guess having a much higher ratio (than a random town) of aging boomers. 

So, does anyone have any experiences pro or con. Or other preferences - this is for live performance. 

I've been working a bit with the Beat Buddy Mini. The big deal about it is that you can add files and transition between sections in real time using footswitches, so you're not locked into a backing track. I'm curious about the "big" version that costs around $380. Supposedly it sounds better, is more customizable, etc. It can also play back MIDI files but then you're locked to the backing track again.

• Like 1

I've worked with drum machines in the past. OK, but I like doing my own backing tracks better.

Each one has pros and cons, here are the main ones I can think of.

Working with tracks, cements the arrangements, no variation, but the drummer can play the right fills and accents at the right places.

The drum machine is more flexible with tempos and arrangements, but it doesn't always have the right beats for a particular song, and doesn't put the right fills in at the right time.