Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Know your customer … And it may not be the buyer…

Hey all,

I’ve suggested privately to many plug-in / software providers to offer gift cards. From a license/copy protection perspective I need to be the owner of my software, but a gift card allows my wife to give me something of meaning, without understanding the details. To date, no one that I know of has done it or taken me up on the idea.

It reminds me of a reality in my profession, which is automobiles. I’m a mechanical engineer, but I do work with marketing and if you want to market an automobile, you better be sure you are marketing to the actual decision maker. You can’t advertise and market to a dude who wants a sports car … You need to market to the couple, who make the big spending decisions. Not all of us are married or in relationships, but many of us are, and no successful dude makes a major purchase decision without buy-in from his spouse.

Plug-in / software vendors can apply the same learnings … Offer gift cards. Maybe you apply your creativity to make them special and custom so that they aren’t just a cash value (maybe you allow a special, custom message for the receiver). Maybe you provide a cool, physical medium that can be packaged like a gift. Any way you slice it, you are losing sales by not offering gift cards.

But you can apply the same learnings to pricing … I can easily justify (if not even mention) a $30 or $50 dollar purchase in a given month. If your plugin costs $600, that’s starting to become a discussion item. Clearly many plug-in manufacturers have learned this and offer plug-ins at very low, seasonal prices.

Again, the customer base may be single, in a relationship, or married, but if you’re not thinking about the other half, you might be missing the real decision maker.

Todd

Sundown

Working on: The Jupiter Bluff; Driven Away

Main axes: Kawai MP11 and Kurz PC361

DAW Platform: Cubase