Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

PSA - Ableton Note updated with midi input

Ableton introduced their iOS Note app without midi input. It seemed nearly useless. Except maybe as a conversation starter at train stops. "Yes, I'm a producer..."

Now they have added midi input. People will be happiest with it if they are into Bluetooth LE MIDI or Ableton Link.  So update.

AbletonNote-2023-04-20.png

Sure does a lot for $5.99! I wonder if Android will ever catch up with iOS. Probably not...some Android devices can do low-latency audio, but not all. I suspect the issue is similar to Windows. There are so many different Android configurations that it would be daunting to test all of them.

23 hours ago, Anderton said:

Sure does a lot for $5.99! I wonder if Android will ever catch up with iOS. Probably not...some Android devices can do low-latency audio, but not all. I suspect the issue is similar to Windows. There are so many different Android configurations that it would be daunting to test all of them.

Craig, people have been trying for years, and at least one major gear company (IK Multimedia) did a big push for Android support that quietly vanished roughly a year later.

It's not just the fact that there is an even spread among Android users among many different versions from old to newest. Making everything worse is that there is poor overarching regulation of connection standards, and NONE for anything isochronous that's required for synchronized music production. It's not daunting; it's damn near impossible, and most folks don't try.

The vast majority of Android music apps are semi-pro at best, and I've had Android users look over my shoulder as I do an entire show on an iPad, then look at their tablets while obviously asking themselves why they bothered.

As I like to phrase it when the topic comes up: "iOS may be a walled garden, but Android is a dark, scary swamp."

mike