Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

When enough is enough (CPU power)

So I'm building a new PC to play Doom 3 (and eventually, Gigasampler), and it got me to thinking about my studio rig.

I'm using a dual 1.8 gig G5 for Final Cut, After Effects and 3d animation, a dual 1 gig Quicksilver G4 for Logic, Reason, Live, Dp, etc., and I have a Sawtooth G4 upgraded to 1 gig in my proper office for music also.

So I pick up the phone to order the new dual G5, and I stopped myself. For the first time in my life as a musician, I did not feel compelled to upgrade my main music box. I can get over 100 audio tracks playing in Logic at once (I use UW SCSI). At a more reasonable 48 tracks, I can easily get all the plug in effects going that I want. And with the new track freeze function, softsynth limits are a thing of the past.

I never feel hampered by rendering times or jittery graphics, and even the CPU hogs like the CS-80V or any of the convolution reverbs just make me think a bit before using them.

So I've finally reached the point where having the additional power is not worth the heartache of configuring yet another system. I'm sure this is even more true for Wintel folks, who could, if they were insane enough, upgrade every other month.

I've always gone by the first rule of small business: "Do not buy any overhead until it is absolutely clear that you are losing money without it". I have hit that limit, and I am a benchmarking hound, so it's quite significant. It's a good time to be a computer-based musician, folks.

I told my wife this today, and she looked like she was staring at a replicant of her husband. she said she was proud of me that I wasn't just buying a new computer for he hell of it.

Of course, I didn't tell her about the stuff from NewEgg that's coming tomorrow...mmm....Doooooommm.

"For instance" is not proof.

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by zeronyne: