Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Do you always trust your ears?

I have been working with wave editors for almost 10 years now, and I'm finding that more and more I'll look at the waveforms rather than just trust my ears to pick up distortion. I can't trust my ears anymore. Sometimes after hours of mixing I can't hear the distortion, but I do the next day! It is an easy matter just to LOOK for the clipping in the view window.

Anyone else here not totally depending on their ears to produce the final product?

Dan

http://musicinit.com/pvideos.html

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There are times when I dont trust my ears (or the equipment Im listening through).

However, I never make any significant editing/mixing decisions based solely on some technical indication.

I take a break - maybe an entire day off- and come back when I can listen properly and trust my ears.

Check out some tunes here:

http://www.garageband.com/artist/KenFava

Just remember, Dan, graphical wave editors don't always show you where distortion is. Clipping distortion is one thing. But there are other ways to distort a signal unintentionally that don't push the amplitude to clip. Yes, we have the tendency to work too long with little rest for our ears. The only secret is to know you should always revisit a mix with fresh ears before commiting it to a master. It's too easy to miss things when you listen and relisten to the same section many times over.

It's easiest to find me on Facebook. Neil Bergman

Soundclick

fntstcsnd

I've heard a lot of folks here say that they will often have to take a break from a mixing job, or periodically put in a CD (of someone else) for reference.

Hell, i get to a point sometimes where i don't hear distortion on my guitar anymore, and i'm talking about some hardcore gain.

I don't think there's anything wrong with you at all.

Dr. Seuss: The Original White Rapper

WWND?