Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Clav Sound

I was hoping someone might be so kind as to give me some help getting this Clav sound,… starting at 10:40. I  have no experience with a real Clav and little with VSTs, but I have the Scarbee Clav, Ampl;itube 5, IK Multimedia Clavitube and Arturia Clavinet V.  I didn’t find any presets that’s seemed to work but possibly it is more to do with how to play the sound.

I'm no clav expert but I definitely hear a wah going on there.   Obviously there is some overdrive coming from something, I'm guessing an amp since he has vintage "real gear".  Beyond that I'd punt to the experts.   For another similar example of killer wah clav sound, see the vid below.  He's using a wah whammy bar though.

• Like 1

22 minutes ago, LilyM said:

I was hoping someone might be so kind as to give me some help getting this Clav sound,… starting at 10:40. I  have no experience with a real Clav and little with VSTs, but I have the Scarbee Clav, Ampl;itube 5, IK Multimedia Clavitube and Arturia Clavinet V.  I didn’t find any presets that’s seemed to work but possibly it is more to do with how to play the sound.

A clean / dry Clavinet sounds somewhere between a harpsichord and an acoustic guitar - obviously with a different attack. The examples above are clearly going through a way pedal and a guitar amp.  

-Mike Martin

Casio

Mike Martin Photography Instagram Facebook

The Big Picture Photography Forum on Music Player Network

The opinions I post here are my own and do not represent the company I work for.

I'd try the Scarbee (or clav plugin of choice) running into Amplitube V (guitar amp).   The wah could be in either place I guess.   For me I have used the Logic clav with it's built-in wah into S-gear, which is a guitar amp simulator.  Sounded pretty good to me, except I can't play as good as any of the vids above! :D

• Like 1