Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Lost & Found Recipes

We all have them in some way: dishes people around us cooked, but time and tide have taken away our access to them.  Perhaps it was a dish a now deceased relative used to Cook.  Or maybe you moved across country and can’t cook it yourself.  Maybe the ingredients simply aren’t available where you are.  

But sometimes, you’re able to do some sleuthing and experimenting and rediscover the magic…or at least get close enough.

i started learning how to cook when I was 7 or 8.  But it was many years after that before I started trying to prepare some of my family’s more unusual dishes.  Several have been lost; few have been rediscovered.

My great aunt .Muriel made a great cake, but nobody had made it in decades since she passed.  And someone asked me to make it,  We had a recipe she had written down late in life, long after the last time she had made it herself.  And as I made it, it was clearly not accurate.  Fortunately, I was able to figure out what was wrong p, and saved it.

My paternal grandmother-Muriel’s sister- made a ham, potato and thyme soup that was fantastic, but nobody else liv8ng seems to remember having it.  I’ve been experimenting for years now, and have come up with some really nice recipes, but none are true to hers.

Now, I’m getting ready to go through the process again.  My last maternal aunt died a few days ago, and there were a few holiday dishes she absolutely nailed.  3 in particular were in high demand, and it’s going to be down to me to figure them out: sweet potatoes, deviled eggs with shrimp, and a glazed ham.  I’m tackling the last one first- her sons are in town handling her affairs, and none of them have time to cook the stockpile of food in her freezer.  So I figure feeding the horde is a good use of my time.

• Like 1

Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: âNinety percent of everything is crapâ