Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Note from one of your friendly admins.

zeronyne

Hello, peeps,

So I'm hearing that with the sale of New Bay Media to Future Music, this forum could be in jeopardy. They Keyboard forum has made contingency plans that are not really practical for this board, but I'd like to hear from you guys, especially the longtime lurkers, whether there is even momentum left here to look for or consider an alternative to this space that brings the "spirit" of this group along with it. Frankly, I can't quite tell if there is real activity on this board or not. We maybe in a situation where only 5-15 people are actually using this board at all.

So if you just lurk in the shadows, this would be a good time to chime in if you want to see this forum continue. To be clear, I have no insider knowledge. But I've been part of many web property acquisitions, so I know how this could play out.

Let me hear from you!

"For instance" is not proof.

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'd love to see it continue, personally. It may be time for it to fade into legend but I found a home here a few decades back and this is still my first stop each morning. It certainly doesn't have the traffic other sites generate but the knowledge and professionalism of those involved here makes this the stop for professionals and serious players. We've seen n00bs come here and hesitantly question their abilities, seek support when they're struggling and gain confidence mainly because of the support and advice of the folks here, where they might have been swept under the rug or ridiculed at other sites by members who were, dare I say it, less than supportive or downright cruel (since it's always easier to feel good about yourself when you're tearing someone else down).