Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Why does NO one make the products I NEED??

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

Dammnmit.... no wonder all these equipment makers are having such a tough time these days. NONE of them are making anything I can USE!.... and I HAVE MONEY AND WANT TO SPEND IT!

My odyssey started this week when I started a search to replace my old stand alone CDR from Tascam. I thought.... I'll just buy one of these great Tascam CDR2000s. Cool... everything I need... balanced I/O and a AES input. Try to get one.... it's been discontinued! :mad:

OK... so what else is available? Hmmm... the HHB units which I've had plenty of bad experience with... 6 have failed in the last 6 months. I'm not going to use a cheap AES/SPDIF converter... I CAN hear the difference. OK... so what does Tascam see as a replacement product? The CDR 402 which has balanced I/O but NO AES INPUT! Huh? Tascam doesn't even make a single unit with a professional digital input? Huh? But I HAVE the money... I'll pay a little more... please? No....

OK... other options....

I can get an Alesis Masterlink that does have a AES input and does 96k. Nice.... but I need to be able to hand clients reference CDs of their performance right after the concert is done. OK.... 2 hours of music... 2 cds.... Alesis only has a 4x burner in the Masterlink so it will take at LEAST 25 min per disc AND I have to do 2.... so.... my client should wait 45 min after the concert for a reference CD???? Not going to work......

OK.... maybe I can get a small digital mixer for my remote rig with a SPDIF output to match these crap new CD recorders.

Maybe a Yamaha O1X... more flexibility.... I think... Oh.... wait.... I can't even find out what kind of I/O is included on their website or how it really works in stand alone mixer mode. Oh yeah... and this would be a $1500 solution to ONE MISSING AES INPUT ON A CDR RECORDER!