Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

iPad Variants...

JWhllr

Hey everyone!

So, I'm doing a Masters next year and one of the required pieces of equipment is an iPad running Garageband.

Currently I have a little 8" Samsung tablet (cos it was cheap) that does an okay-but-not-great job at running charts.

So, I'm looking at getting an iPad primarily for the Masters (so Garageband) but also running charts, doing some photo editing and the usual emails, invoicing etc. My main question is, any recommendations? The 11" iPad Pro is tempting with the education pricing at the moment, but the 9.7" normal iPad might be fine power wise and a bit cheaper, although I'm slightly concerned about the screen size for charts.

Would the 12.9" be worth it over the 11"? Starting to get slightly less portable in that format though, but the screen real estate could be good for DAW and charts.

Viscount Legend, Leslie 142, Nord Stage 3 HA88, Rhodes MK1 1977, Moog Sub 37, Dave Smith Rev2, Juno 106, DX7

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Not sure about the size, but the Pro has a better screen thats laminated to the glass, which makes using the Pencil much more natural.

Ive a 10.5 Pro, and Ive taken to writing up all of my sheets directly on the iPad, rather than on paper.

"The Angels of Libra are in the European vanguard of the [retro soul] movement" (Bill Buckley, Soul and Jazz and Funk)

The Drawbars | off jazz organ trio

Thats a decision thats really dependent on your financial situation. The $329 9.7 iPad is really quite good, is on sale right now for $225 or so at a few places, will run any current software easily, and is what most schools will be using (I suspect that model iPad is designed primarily with the education market in mind).