Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How do you practice improvisation?

Kenji13

Hi all -

I have been fascinated about improvisation, but I am not good at it. I am trained in classical guitar and I tend to focus on interpreting what it is already written...

I understand music theory and I can improvise over harmonies, but I never feels good about it. In other words, I think too much about what to play and cannot feel what I do.

I would appreciate if anyone can advice on how to practice improvisation and how to improve?

Thank you!

Kenji

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Ok I am about 99% improv in my playing and into my recording computer, then I learn my own licks over time listening to my own improvs and then remembering by doing over and over again.

My advice is to actually play over backing tracks which you can get on the web if you cannot create them yourself. You learn the scales, and the modes, (if you are a classical player you know them already). Now you find out which mode to go against the chord changes, and then you improvise. Like playing something classical and practiced, it takes time to learn the feel by doing. If you have recording capability then play your improvs into the computer and listen to what you have done.

I took some formal lessons and learned a little theory, but the guys I wanted to emulate seemed like they were going from sound to sound. Not from note name to note name. Just wing it which is another way to say improv, wing it, until you hear something you like.

I find that my best improvs come from major and minor pentatonic scales with a little bit of the other notes of the full scales thrown in as approach notes or even resolutions.