Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I've got some good song ideas, but need help with drums...?

Bansaw

I've got some good melody ideas and can do bass lines and lyrics etc. But I am not good with drums. This is holding me back from making songs.

Is there anything out there that can help me? Maybe a VST that has got lots of inbuilt ready-made beats I can just drop in?

I'm not focused on just one genre, but would like to experiment with a few genres (but I tend to gravitate towards EDM and more modern stuff as opposed to classic rock).

Reaper, i7-7700k, Win10, 16GB, 2TB, 500Mb SSD, MOTU Ethno & Symphonic, Studiologic 990Xp 88-key, Behringer UM2

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

A drummer?

Lots of session drummers will lay down drum tracks for pretty cheap. I once had a drummer friend lay down some tracks which I chopped up and made into samples that I could trigger from sequences.

Dan

Acoustic/Electric stringed instruments ranging from 4 to 230 strings, hammered, picked, fingered, slapped, and plucked. Analog and Digital Electronic instruments, reeds, and throat/mouth.

Bansaw -

What do you intend to do with the songs when complete (are they demos for a band with an eventual live drummer...or do you want them to live in the box...or...)?

Just to play Captain Obvious for a second, no matter where you end up finding automated drum help (and there are lots of options now in VST world), if you're intending these songs for live performance not sure how married you want to get to a drum loop.

A good drummer is going to want to do what good drummers do - interpret the song - rather than mainly duplicate a preprogrammed loop.

You're probably already aware of this, just a reminder.

I use Logic's Drummer tracks, I think those are similar to EZ drummer. I am also terrible with drums and have respect for those willing and able to sit there and slice and dice them apart...I'd rather fold laundry, and that's saying something.