Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

playing to midi files

alecras234

Hi my name is Ash, i'm 38 from the UK and i'm disabled and use a wheelchair. I play keyboard with my left hand as I can't use both hands because of my disability. I use midi files to play the music and play the melody with my left hand. I have a few Queen midi files saved as i'm a big Queen fan. I'm learning the melody to Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen but when the guitar solo comes in and the melody stops I'm stuck. What do i play? I'm not very good at improvising.

I thought playing keyboard would be fun but as i'm no good at improvising it takes the fun of playing away! If you could tell me what i could play while the guitar solo is playing on the midi file,it would be great.

Thanks

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

What about playing some backing chords? Otherwise, I think solos were invented so the rest of the band can grab a glass of water and take a break-- so you could just sit back and enjoy listening to the guitar solo until it's time to start playing again. ;)

Improvising comes with practice. I guess that for some people it comes more naturally-- but before you can improvise you need to be familiar with the tune, or the basic chord progressions.

The fun doesn't come from being able to improvise, it comes from doing something you enjoy. As long as you enjoy it, who cares whether you're improvising or not? Just my $.02, anyway. :)

Michael Rideout

What about playing some backing chords? Otherwise, I think solos were invented so the rest of the band can grab a glass of water and take a break-- so you could just sit back and enjoy listening to the guitar solo until it's time to start playing again. ;)

Improvising comes with practice. I guess that for some people it comes more naturally-- but before you can improvise you need to be familiar with the tune, or the basic chord progressions.