Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT - Hitchhikers

Do You Pick Them Up?

Just wondering. I do most of the time because I used to hitch a lot. I worked in a record store 30 miles from my house and the bus ride was dull, long and expensive, so I'd go to the bus stop early and stick the thumb out. It worked half the time.

As a driver I find that picking someone up greatly speeds up the journey psychologically, plus I like to help people out.

However, I'm always very wary and wont pick up someone who looks a little dodgy. If they have a guitar case they usually get a ride!

This subject is on my mind because the other day I picked someone up on my way to work. Seemed like a nice enough guy, said he needed a ride coz someone smashed into his motorbike last week. When my phone rang he answered it very quickly so I didnt have to risk it whilst driving. Unknown to me, the bastad managed to swipe £30 (approx $50) from my wallet whilst doing so! I can't figure out how he did it. I will continue to pick up hitchhikers with caution but I will always keep my money very close to me from now on.

Grrr, I mean Mrrr

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've seen too many news clips about people whose lives ended after picking up a hitch-hiker. They may be rare, but I'm not picking up strangers on the side of the road. Especially not with my family in the car.

I have been known to give rides to relative strangers I've met and spent some time with.

I'm also very careful for whom I will exit my car for on the side of the road. Most times, I'd rather alert the authorities that there is someone in distress if it's a simple car on the side of the road. Of course, it would be different if I came upon a bad crash where immediate assistance was needed, but I've yet to be put in a situation like that.

It's easiest to find me on Facebook. Neil Bergman

Soundclick

fntstcsnd