Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

DAW Stability: " who's stable, and who isn't"

Greetings,

The seems to be an upheaval brewing in the DAW world not so much at the top, moreso in the middle. It seems early on the companies garner sales with the latest greatest feature set, and in the end it may take months or years, if ever-for the blasted updates to repair the bugs which allow you to use these features effectively. Daw instability will eventually erode your user base, look at MOTU!!!!!!!!

So lets do a shoot out, lets rank the top 5 current DAWs based on stability alone, and the 5 most unstable DAWS. Currently I am a Pro Tools user. But I would like to layout my DAW history.

I initially migrated from a Roland S50 which handle my sequencing and sampling (very stable) to Studio Vision(IMHO very stable). From there I jumped to Logic Audio (which seemed stable, but I was unable to get the enviroment thing). So I moved to Digital Performer 2.7, probably the biggest mistake I made in life. I mean I never got to even stress the audio engine, because the program popped & locked more than a LA street dancer while just handling midi data and small audio files. This was on a stock 450 MHZ B&W G3. After a few weeks of that crap I moved to PT. I've been happy with my stability since.

Most Stable --- Pro Tools 5.1 OS 9.2.2

Least Stable --- Digital Performer 2.7 OS 9.2.2

Dallas

http://TrilogySound.com

Reading, PA

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Daw's seem to be highly complex systems where a vast number of variables can affect performance. I run DP 3.11 on my now almost five year old G4/400.

Rock Solid here. :thu:

I don't know much about the others, becuase I am satisfied.

Tascam 4 track cassette------>Roland1680(still use great little box)----------DP3 :D

Ahh! Let us proclaim absolute truths.

Let us dishonor war, No...glorious war does not exist.

-Victor Hugo

http://www.composerguitarist.com